ACM XC3 – 2020

posted in: Uncategorized | 0
 6 km 
1Max Spencer0:25:10
2Flynn Register0:26:18
3Darius Simpson0:26:31
4Charlie Matthews0:28:16
5Graeme Butcher0:28:31
6Corey Miller0:30:02
7Dominic Green0:30:23
8Malcolm MacDonald0:31:53
9Brent Register0:32:18
10James Inwood0:32:47
11Glenn Cocker0:32:53
12Vikki Paine0:33:32
13Sam Hill0:34:29
14Andy Matthews0:34:30
15Greg Lang0:35:12
16Amelia Percy0:35:19
17Euan Percy0:35:37
18Sue Bankier0:35:43
19Corrina Paine0:35:52
20Michael Duthie0:36:12
21Tom Andrews0:36:50
22Craig Weston0:38:20
23Tim Matthews0:38:24
24Richard Hawkes0:38:40
25Bianca Green0:38:42
26Ray Haste0:39:06
27Craig Ewing0:39:11
28Richard Samways0:39:12
29Roger Jones0:39:58
30Rachel Gawith0:40:04
31Steve Brittland0:41:41
32Norm Chu0:42:05
33Franky Spite0:42:14
34Lloyd Millar0:42:34
35Cam Ewen0:43:17
36Chris van Gerven0:43:39
37David Farlow0:44:02
38Gail Edwards0:45:24
39MacKenzie Murray0:46:57
40Kim Register0:47:25
41Michael Stewart0:49:03
42Miranda Barton0:54:34
43Jim Barr0:54:59
44Ali Lang0:57:14
45Robyn Green0:58:46
46Tess Bunny1:00:40
47Lisa Scott1:01:20
48Stacey Miller1:01:21
49Jennifer Braaksma1:01:23
50Gordon Reid1:02:57
51Annie Hawkes1:03:15
52Stan Braaksma1:05:10
53Bob Scott1:05:13
54Rachel Reid1:13:35
55Anthony Rowe-Penny1:16:22
56Sarah Van Gerven1:16:25
57Rob Ruff-Thomas1:18:36
58Lincoln Spite1:26:11
 4 km 
1Ruby Matthews0:21:06
2Brooke Miller0:22:32
3Jacquelyn Murray0:25:41
4Henry Johnston0:27:08
5Justin Miller0:33:41
 2 km 
1Hunter Johnston0:11:21 
2Sylvie Weston0:18:20 
3Jaxon Tobin0:38:43 

XC event this Sunday

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Looking forward to seeing you all on Sunday. This is a social event, no handicaps or grade places. 

Start times are in waves (see image) based on previous grades and finish times.  If you think you are in the wrong wave message us now.

The course is three 2 km laps for adults.  Children can do 1, 2 or 3 laps but must decide before 10 am.

Please observe all COVID rules:

  • physical distancing, especially before and after the race
  • use the hand sanitiser 
  • bring your own towel
  • bring your own drink (no morning tea or prize-giving)
  • Register when you arrive – we need contact details so allow plenty of time.
  • We will have the toilets downstairs open but not upstairs
  • Please DO NOT come if you are unwell, or are defined as being ‘at risk’

ANZAC Day Race

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

ANZAC DAY RACE. For many years Ray Wallis and his team of helpers have organised the ANZAC day race to raise money for local charities. In honour of his hard work over the years we are hosting a ‘virtual’ event this year with all proceeds going to LifeFlight in Ray’s name. Simply go for a run or walk on ANZAC day and donate according to your distance. $5 for 5km or $10 for 10km. Deposit to the ACM account 02-0688-0020447-00 (use your name and ANZAC as a reference). You could also post a photo here to show us where you went. Remember – keep your social distance!

Event Canceled

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

In light of the announcements today we have regrettably decided to cancel the final 5km event tomorrow as well as the one-hour track challenge next weekend. A decision about the cross country series will be made in due course. Please share this notice with those who you know do not use social media.

WCM Legal One Hour Track Challenge

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Where : Pugh Sports Bowl Track, Masterton
When : Sunday 29th March 2020
Time : Start time 9.00 am


Please register for free online at:


Estimate how far you can run, walk, or push a pram in one hour.


  • No timing devices will be allowed during the race.
  • No side-line supporters giving out times.
  • You must complete the 1-hour time, and not stop once
  • you have done your estimated distance.


Prizes will be given to those closest to the distance they have estimated, as below

1st $100.00, 2nd $30.00 & 3rd $20.00

There will also be 5 x $10.00 prizes randomly drawn.

Prize giving approx. 10.30am in the clubrooms. You need to be there to win a spot prize.

Proudly sponsored by

Francis Line GRR

posted in: Club, Cycling, Results | 0

The Francis line circuit never fails to bring a few challenges with it. It is a course where riders understand they will face the wind coming at them from every which way at some stage out on the road. Tonight, it was a hardy few riders – some might say fool-hardy – who turned out to attempt to deal with very chilly south-southeast wind conditions. 

Traditionally this is a fast, flat circuit that favours the sprinters or riders who can hang on and then take off out the front to rapidly get up that final small lump to the finish line. As a Graded Road Race, you are only racing against the riders in your start group, so bunch tactics can also come into play and not everyone will be prepared to take equal turns on the front. 

Usually in Graded Road Races there’s no love in war and cycle racing and sometimes it’s not about winning but all about beating your mates! In contrast to that idea, both A and B Graded races this evening were ridden more like a Handicapped Road Race. 

In A Grade a couple of riders were dropped very soon after the first turn, but all the other riders decided to sit up and let both riders back into the bunch. Everyone was then able to roll through taking their turn on the front.  In the end line honours in A-Grade went to Finn Roberts, closely followed by his Dad, who rode the whole race in his small chain ring – spin training extraordinaire!

In B-Grade a similar race unfolded. B-Grade came down to a hard-fought sprint with line honours going to Roger Foote closely followed by Rex Dowding. The race for minor places were also strongly contested in B-Grade.

Very many thanks to race management who kept us safe. Tonight, there were nearly as many in the race team as riders on bikes.

Note: PNP have today put out a notification that Centre Champs have been postponed at this stage. For those who have entered or are intending to enter Nationals – keep an eye on the NZC website as they have indicated they will update this on 19thMarch.

Only two more Tuesday night races for this season – next week is an ITT up Matahiwi and the final race is a Mass Start around the Pakas from Johnstone Street.

Rememberto register for our Cycling Section AGM and Prizegiving through the ACM website.

Full resultscan be found: