Club Champs Crit – provisional results

posted in: Club, Cycling, Results | 0

The first of four Club Championship Races were held tonight at the Masterton Motorplex. The Criterium is a circuit or street race, held over a specified period of time plus 2 laps, where the aim is to gain as many sprint points as possible. Sprints occur on alternate laps, with points allotted to the first 4 riders (5, 3, 2 and 1) to cross the line each time a sprint is held. At the end of the race each rider’s points are totalled up to determine winners.

It was very pleasing tonight to have sufficient contenders to be able to run 3 separate grades. The first race was C-Grade, racing for 15 minutes plus 2 laps. This race included our sole junior girl as well as the sole tandem. B-Grade included the Women’s championship race as well as a couple of junior boys, was 25 minutes plus 2 laps. The final race was A-Grade – the men’s Championship race at 40 minutes plus 2 laps. 

To do well in a criterium the skills most useful are an ability to corner rapidly, to be able to survive rapid changes of pace and also the ability to recover rapidly from repeated full-on efforts. Each of the grades were hotly contested with some riders proving their skills, strength and endurance was up to the challenge of repeated sprinting. For a few riders this proved a step too far. 

Congratulations to the grade winners and out newest Club champions:

Greg Baillie                  – 1st C-Grade

David Hancock            – 2nd C-Grade

Andi Bond                   – 3rd C-Grade

Daniel Jaques             – 1st B-Grade

Ricky Blade                  – 2nd B-Grade

Caleb Roberts             – 1st U 15 boy & 3rd B-Grade

Ryan McNaughton      – 2nd U 15 boy

Jaimee Blackburn        – 1st U 17 girl

Finn Roberts               – 1st U19 boy

Emily Lutyens              – Champion woman

Lesley Mouat              – 2nd woman

Donna O’Sullivan        – 3rd woman

Mark Langlands          – Champion man

Erik d”Arbois               – 2nd man

Simon Butler               – 3rd man

Many thanks to Brent Sowry, commissaire, and to all who ‘spotted’ when they were not riding. Also, very many thanks to Di Dowding, Karen Blade and Kirsten Goodin who made sure that riders were refuelled after their efforts.

Full results can be found here:

Some Lap times can be found here:


Next week is a handicapped Road Race over Hinakura and back starting in Martinborough at the Martinborough cemetery. There will be a short course available.

Please also remember that for those who have not yet done so, you will need to renew your Cycling New Zealand licence before you can race in January.

If you have not yet done so, Kirsten is still looking for marshalls for the next races.

Finally – watch out for upcoming details of a change to our club race 14thJanuary – which coincides with the New Zealand Cycle Classic – more details will be published once details have been finalised.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

twelve + 18 =