Club Champs Road Race 2021

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Overall results

Age group results

2 Feb 2021 – ACM Road Race Championships MSRR

A total of 34 riders presented themselves to the start line for the ACM 2021 road race championship race. A further 7 riders presented themselves for the start of the Junior road race championship

The course was 52km from the start at Double Bridges up through Mauriceville before veering right over Dreyers Rock road and right onto the Whangaehu Valley road. At the south end of the Valley road the riders hung a left heading north up Bideford road turning before the hill and doubling back south for a fast and furious sprint across the finish line adjacent Te Ore Ore marae.

The short course was 16kms starting on Bideford road next to Te Ore Ore marae and finishing at the same location.

Conditions were excellent with the exception of a nor’easterly breeze that provided a niggling headwind on the outward leg but much welcome tailwind on the final run to the finish line.

The main group had a neutralised start for the first kilometre but as the flag dropped the speed shot up into the low 40’s and stayed there for the remainder of the race.

Two riders, Mark Langland & Simon Pumfrey, escaped from the main peleton early on and stayed away to eventually finish 1st and 2nd respectively. The remainder of the peleton split into two chasing groups on the run up to Mauriceville with the speed over Dreyers Rock road dropping more riders from the first chasing group. The run down the Whangaehu Valley road saw the frantic pace continue with some riders finding it too hard to hang on.

The short sharp climb to the Bideford road junction provided a further challenge for some riders swinging off the back of the first chasing group requiring a determined effort to catch on for the run to the turn around. The final run south to the finish had the chasing group nudging 55kph before the final sprint over the line for 3rd place. 

Club Champs Results;

1st – Mark Langland             1:17:27

2nd –Simon Pumfrey 1:17:27                      

3rd – Jurjen Geerts               1:19:55

Junior Champs Results

1st –  Caleb Roberts             00:37:11

2nd – Scarlet McCallum       00:39:26

3rd – Amelia Percey              00:39:26

Full results including age grades available on the ACM website

Next Race – Tues 9th February  Upper Manaia Kermisse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

fourteen − 3 =