WIZwireless 2003 Criterion Club Champs

posted in: Uncategorized | 0

Club Champs -MensPointsLap PointsLap Times

Club Champs Womens and C to E Grade Competition — PointsLap PointsLap Times

Thanks to Toni McCallum for the photo

Race Report – 17 January 2023 ACM WIZwireless Criterium Champs

It was a perfect evening for the club Criterium Champs. Held at the Masterton Motorplex which provided for a 1.3km flat & fast circuit with a couple of tight corners to introduce an element of bike handling into the proceedings

A total of 28 riders fronted up for the racing. C, D, E and womens grades kicked off the first race. The format was 20 minutes plus 2 laps. A bell was rung at the start of each points lap and riders sprinted for the line to receive points for places. On the first lap Steve Brown and Bill Van Woerkom put the hammer down on the straight. This strung the group out and as they rounded the turn onto the start/finish straight and speeds went up the group broke into groupetto’s and single riders. The leading group of 7 riders held together for the remainder of the race with hotly contested sprints on each points lap

The A & B grade raced 30 minutes plus 2 laps. Dominic Green made an early break hoping to get the drop on his co racers. However, after the 1st lap he was overhauled by a flying Tom McCallum who overtook him and never looked back. It quickly became a one horse race with the main group chasing Tom but never in danger of catching him.

Congratulations to the points winners and well done to all the riders who turned up and raced.

A & B Grade

1st    Tom McCallum                     40 points            

2nd   Caleb Roberts                      22              

3rd    Jackson Fellows                   18              

C, D & E Grade

1st    Bill Van Woerkom                 23 points            

2nd   Ricky Blade                           19                       

3rd    Andy Curtis-Cody                 10

Womens Grade

1st    Belinda Fuller                        30 points

2nd   Donna Burkhart                     15

3rd    Scarlett McCallum                15                       

Full results on the ACM web site. Thanks to the organisers and to Di Dowding for the BBQ. And a special thanks goes to Masterton Motorplex for generously allowing us the use their facilities.

Next race Tues 24 Jan is the club ITT champs on the Whangaehou road circuit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *